|
|
Databases
|
The online databases listed
below are available to anyone with an
Internet connection who has a valid Marion Public Library card.
They require typing in your entire 14 digit library card number
(Facts.com only needs the first 5 digits).
Click
here for information about
obtaining a Marion Public Library card.
|
|
|
|
 |
Auto Repair Reference Center
(formerly known as Chilton's) |
Find auto repair manuals from 1945-present.
Includes both foreign and domestic models. Includes repair
procedures, service bulletins and recalls, wiring diagrams, and more.
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Career Transitions (Library barcode
required) |
This comprehensive database covers a variety of
topics that will help you advance your career. Discover your
interests, explore careers, prepare your resume, improve your chances,
and find jobs. The database also links to current job listings, as
well state unemployment and social services. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Click Here to Enter Heritage Quest Online (Library Bar Code Required) |
Online
resource for census data, family records and local histories. Assembles
every extant U.S. federal census, banking and military records,
genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical
and local history serials. An ongoing project (new content is added
weekly), Heritage Quest Online will grow to encompass obituaries,
Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land
Warrant Index and additional materials. |
|
|
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia
Britannica
(Library barcode required) |
Home access for
the legendary Encyclopedia Britannica. Find the latest information
on educational topics at this site. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Magill's Medical Guide |
An
up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information. The
Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties,
anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
NoveList |
Find fiction titles based on a
favorite author, title, or description. Browse lists by type of
fiction. Includes articles and book discussion guides.
Covers all age levels. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
RefUSA |
The No. 1 source of information on
businesses and people for researchers, students, job seekers and
government agencies. |
|
|
 |
This database contains materials from
thousands of libraries worldwide in many formats - books, eBooks, DVDs,
videos, music and much more. This link is only searchable in
the Marion Public Library. To use this database from home go
to the Inspire link further down on this page (available only to Indiana residents). |
|
This
database is available to all Indiana residents! |
|
 
|
|
INSPIRE
is Indiana's Virtual Library on the Internet. INSPIRE offers electronic
magazines, encyclopedias, and other resources to all Indiana residents
for your information needs. Research current events, science, business,
health, notable people, hobbies, and much more from your library,
school, home or office. |
|
If you are an Indiana resident who cannot
access INSPIRE by using the existing authentication systems, you may
obtain an INSPIRE password (this includes users of Internet Service
Providers (ISPs) that serve areas outside Indiana such as America
Online, CompuServe and AT&T).
You will be required to complete an online
form with your name, postal address, telephone number, and email
address. Upon registration, a temporary (72 hour) password will be
issued for immediate access to INSPIRE. You will then be sent a letter
by US mail containing an annual password that can be changed for easier
usage. Passwords will not be sent to any postal address outside Indiana.
Click here to find out more information about Inspire passwords
or
Click here to complete the online form for your INSPIRE password.
|
|
The
following databases are for in Library use only. |
|
 |
Ancestry Library Edition |
With more than 1.5 billion
names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records
from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate
records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!
These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every
business day. |
|
|
|
|
 |
Doxpop |
Access court information easily without having
to make a trip to the courthouse. Court documents, including court
cases and a variety of recorded documents can be searched by name.
Includes Grant County. Ask for login in the Indiana Room or Reference
Desk. |
|
|
|
|
 |
Encarta Encyclopedia |
This
is an entire reference area! Has encyclopedia articles, maps,
statistics and great multimedia options. |
| |
|
|
 |
Mitchell on Demand |
Online
automobile repair guide (1983 through current models), includes time,
parts and labor estimator; maintenance
info; and provides price quotes. |
| |
|
|
 |
New England Ancestors |
This
database has a wealth of information pertaining to the genealogy of New
England. It is maintained by
the New England
Historic Genealogical Society. |
| |
|
|
 |
Reference USA |
This
is an online database that contains information on over 12 million
businesses across the United States. You can find executives of
businesses as well as their credit rating. Also shows parent
companies and their subsidiaries. |
| |
|
|
 |
Streets and Trips |
Find
an address or a place, plan your route, and get road construction
updates. |
Last updated
January 19, 2010
|